Trail Steward at Clayton Andrews Forest Preserve

In addition to my volunteer work with “Hoo” Haven, I also volunteer for the Forest Preserve District of Winnebago County as a trail steward for the Clayton Andrews Forest Preserve. It’s an adorably small preserve in a subdivision in Roscoe, IL. There’s one little trail that goes through the preserve which is used mostly by local residents (and me!). I grew up in a home that backs right up to the preserve. Growing up, I spent a good deal of my time in the wooded area behind our house, before it was ever an official forest preserve. So becoming a trail steward for this area has been a lot of fun for me.

Thankfully most of the residents take pretty good care of this area so there isn’t a lot of work for me to do. I pick up the occasional trash and pay attention for things that appear out of order, but generally I get to walk around with my camera and focus on the beauty around me.

Yellow Plant by Cyrene Krey
One of the lovely plants encountered during my last visit to the preserve. One of the things I love about prairies is how much they change from season to season, even day to day, which leads to a huge variety of colors and shapes to stumble across. It’s a dream for a nature photographer! 😀
Purple Plant by Cyrene Krey
Always one of my favorite plants to see! I love the colors and the different textures. Even in this small grouping, there were a few different shades of pinks/purples and both soft and spiky looking textures.
Beetles Mating by Cyrene Krey
Beetles! I love beetles. It’s easy to ignore how pretty and colorful they are because of how small they are. I found a group of them who were also enjoying the prairie (and working on making little baby beetles).

Several of the photos from this trip and from my visit to Nachusa are available for sale for a limited time on my website at http://www.cyrenekrey.com/Prairies/.

2 thoughts on “Trail Steward at Clayton Andrews Forest Preserve

  1. Pingback: Baby Bison!

Leave a Reply

